“Look upon my works, children.”

We at Von’s love Comic Critics.  Recent strips have dealt with Josh’s reaction to DC’s relaunch and the 52 titles they announced as part of it.  We thought it would be fun if we did own own division of said titles along the lines of Josh’s categories.  Today it is my turn to let you know what interests me for next September.

Mauricio’s 52

Definite Buys

Action Comics #1 – Grant Morrison and Rags Morales bringing Superman back to his New Deal crusader roots?  Yeah.  I’m there.

Animal Man #1 – Jeff Lemire writing a Superhero book about family dynamics?  Awesome.

Batman #1 – Scott Snyder has been hitting it out of the park in Detective Comics.  While I prefer Dick as Batman, this series shows a ton of promise.

Blue Beetle #1 – Jaime Reyes is awesome.  The original run by Rogers, Giffen, and company is still one of the best launches for a new character in recent memory.

Demon Knights #1 – Paul Cornell channeling George R. R. Martin in the medieval DCU.  This might just scratch an itch I will have until the next Song of Ice and Fire book comes out.

Green Lantern: New Guardians #1 – A Kyle Rayner book.  It looks fun, too.

Justice League #1 – If any book will set the tone for the DCnU, it will probably be this one.  While Geoff Johns has left me cold far too often in recent years, I will definitely give this a shot as the relaunch begins.

Nightwing #1 – Kyle Higgins sounds like he has amazing plans for this book and my favorite DC character.

Swamp Thing #1 – Scott Snyder and Yanick Paquette?  Sold.

Tentative Buys

Aquaman #1 – I love Arthur Curry as a character, but I am not a fan of John’s relaunches of the Flash or Green Lantern, truth be told.  Hopefully, though, this will be more like his work on Action Comics or JSA.

Deathstroke #1 – Kyle Higgins shows a lot of promise, but Deathstroke has never been a favorite of mine.

Frankenstein, Agent of S.H.A.D.E. #1 – Jeff Lemire would have made this a must-buy, but so far the Flashpoint mini has been pretty “meh.”

Men of War #1 – The concept looks interesting, and so long as we get Ivan Brandon in Faces of Evil Cobra mode (Checkmate style fun) instead of Final Crisis Aftermath Escape mode (muddled for the sake of muddled) we could have a fun book.

Mister Terrific #1 – While Titans has been dreadful, I rather enjoyed Eric Wallace on the Tattoo Man-centric Final Crisis Aftermath: Ink.  Maybe he can get some of that magic back.

Resurrection Man #1 – Abnett and Lanning have done miracles for Marvel’s cosmic universe, but I am not sure I care about this concept.

Stormwatch #1 – Someone commented online that adding Stormwatch to the DCU was like adding Tyrion Lannister to the cast of Two and a Half Men.  While I love me some Tyrion Lannister and some Paul Cornell, this might not fit right.

Superman #1 – I love Superman.  I am ambivalent about George Perez.

Stuff I Don’t Give a Crap About

All-Star Western #1 – The early days of Gotham makes for a fun playground.  Lets see what Gray and Palmiotti do with it.

Batman:The Dark Knight #1 – What is it with all these artists writing books?  I have a feeling a lot of them will be satisfactory at best.

Batwing #1 – Judd Winnick might make this great, but we saw this character in one page of Batman Inc and now he gets a book?  Reminds me of the elevation of Sodam Yat a couple of years ago.  I still think Sodam Yat sucks…. Sodam Yat sucks.

Batwoman #1 – Call me when Greg Rucka is writing this again.

Blakhawks #1 – DCU G.I. Joe?

Birds of Prey #1 – BoP without Gail Simone and Huntress.  Bleh.

Captain Atom #1 – J.T. Krul.

Catwoman #1 – Winnick will probably make this book good, but nothing about it grabs me right out of the gate.

Detective Comics #1 – You gave your flagship title to Tony Daniel to write?  Alright…

DC Universe Presents – Don’t care about Deadman.

The Fury of Firestorm #1 – Eh.

Green Arrow #1 – See Captain Atom.

Green Lantern #1 – He can overcome great… ZZZZZZZZZZZZ…..

Green Lantern Corps #1 – I like Peter Tomasi, but the cast doesn’t grab me.

Grifter #1 – Cole Cash in the DCU could be cool, but I just can’t get excited for this.

I, Vampire #1 – I don’t care.

Justice League Dark #1 – Why is this a Justice League book?

Justice League International #1 – Where’s Judd Winnick?

Legion Lost #1 – Has some potential, not sure it gets me in the door.

Legion of Super-Heroes #1 – Not reading it now, won’t be reading it in September.

O.M.A.C. #1 – Giffen’s art looks Kirby-tastic, but Didio writing?  Ugh.

Red Hood and the Outlaws #1 – Wow, I can’t stand 2/3 of this team.

Red Lanterns #1 – That’s a lot of rage vomit.

The Savage Hawkman #1 – Could have interested me… and then they gave the series to Tony Daniel.

Supergirl #1 – The creative team makes me shrug.

Static Shock #1 – Never read the comic, never watched the show.

Voodoo #1 – I hear Ron Marz’s Witchblade has been great, but I never read it myself.

Wonder Woman #1 – Could be interesting, I guess.

Stuff I Hate Out of Sheer Principle

Batgirl #1 – Ugh.  I love Gail Simone, but Barbara Gordon was better as Oracle on just about every level.  This is an awful move.

Batman and Robin #1 – Well, DC turned one of my favorite DC books into something that just looks dull.  What made this book so great, regardless of who was writing it, was the awesome dynamic between Dick and Damian.  Now, we will get Big Growler and Little Growler.  Super.

The Flash #1 – Am I the only one who finds reading about Barry Allen as entertaining as watching paint dry?

Hawk and Dove #1 – Rob Liefeld… to the EXTREME!!!!

Suicide Squad #1 – We lost Secret Six so we could get this?!?!

Superboy #1 – Nothing against Scott Lobdell, but Jeff Lemire’s Superboy was one of my favorite DC books.  No.

Teen Titans #1 – Hey, remember the 90s?  DC does.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

